Page 38 - proof

This is a SEO version of proof. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
FSYF Welcome-Back Picnic
Every September, the
Foreign Service Youth
Foundation organizes
a welcome-back picnic for
FS families who have recent-
ly returned from overseas.
This year, the picnic will
take place on Sun., Sept. 18,
from 4 to 6:30 p.m., at Nottoway Park in Vienna, Va. Please join
us even if you have not returned to the D.C. area recently.
The picnic is a great opportunity to make new friends, reconnect
with old ones and welcome home your colleagues. FSYF will
provide hot dogs and hamburgers (including a vegetarian option)
and drinks. Please bring a salad, side dish or dessert to share.
The picnic will have a carnival theme, with fun for children of
all ages, including face painting, a magician and carnival games.
RSVP to
fsyf@fsyf.org by
Wed., Sept. 14.
51st Annual Art & BookFair
The 51st annual Art & BookFair of the Associates of
the American Foreign Service Worldwide will take place
from Fri., Oct. 14, through Sun., Oct. 23. As usual, the
event will be held in the Diplomatic Exhibit Hall in the
Harry S Truman
building. The fair
will feature books,
art, collectibles and
stamps and coins
from all over the
world. All proceeds
benefit Foreign Service families and the AAFSW Scholar-
ship Fund. Donations are now being accepted. For dona-
tion pickup, please call (202) 223-5796 or e-mail book-
room@aafsw.org.
Adair Family Memorial Lecture
AFSA, in conjunction with the School of International
Studies at American University, will present Amb. R. Nicholas
Burns, former under secretary of State for political affairs,
speaking on the subject of Foreign Service challenges in the
21st century. The Fifth Annual Adair Family Memorial lec-
ture will be held on Wed., Aug. 31, at 3:30 p.m., in the Kaye
Memorial Chapel on the main A.U. campus in Washington,
D.C. This program inaugurates the fall semester for A.U.’s
School of International Studies. For more information,
please e-mail
switzer@afsa.org.
36
F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L / J U L Y - A UGU S T 2 0 1 1
A
F
S
A
N
E
W
S
AFSA
NEWS
BRIEFS
Staff:
Executive Director Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel Sharon Papp:
papps@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich:
badrichz@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist James Yorke:
yorkej@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber:
weber@afsa.org
Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh:
parikhna@state.gov
Staff Attorney Raeka Safai:
safair@state.gov
Staff Attorney Andrew Large:
largea@state.gov
Office Manager Christine Warren:
warrenc@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer:
sgeyer@usaid.gov
Member Services
Member Services Director Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and Outreach
Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Director of Communications Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Director of Policy Edward Dickens:
dickens@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Scholarship Director Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Road Scholar Administrator Bernard Alter:
alter@afsa.org
Marketing & Outreach Manager Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Special Awards & Outreach Coordinator Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Web and IT Assistant Jeff Lau:
lau@afsa.org
AFSA HEADQUARTERS:
(202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820
STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087
PRESIDENT:
johnson@afsa.org
STATE VP:
hirschdm@state.gov
RETIREE VP:
rghoudek@aol.com
USAID VP:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FAS VP:
henry.schmick@fas.usda.gov
FCS VP:
keith.curtis@mail.doc.gov
AFSA News
Editor Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
(202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820
Foreign Service Journal
FSJ:
journal@afsa.org
Editor Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor Susan Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director Caryn Suko Smith:
journaldesign@comcast.net
On the Web
AFSA WEB SITE:
www.afsa.org
FSJ:
www.afsa.org/fsj
Governing Board:
PRESIDENT:
Susan R. Johnson
STATE VP:
Daniel Hirsch
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora
FAS VP:
Henry Schmick
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis
RETIREE VP:
Robert Houdek
SECRETARY:
F.A. “Tex” Harris
TREASURER:
Andrew Winter
STATE REPS:
Carleton Bulkin
Ako Cromwell
Mary Glantz
Mike Haughey
Les Hickman
Bruce Matthews
Raymond Maxwell
Joyce Namde
Lynn Nelson
Sharon White
USAID REPS:
Michael Henning
Glenn Rogers
FCS REP:
Stephen Morrison
FAS REP:
Melinda Sallyards
IBB REP:
Al Pessin
RETIREE REPS:
Janice Bay
Robert (Bill) Farrand
Mary Ellen Gilroy
Molly Williamson
Hail and Farewell to AFSA Interns
AFSA welcomes our new summer interns: Asa Horner joins us as
the
Foreign Service Journal
editorial intern, Rebekah Yurco is our new
public affairs intern, Jamie Long is the legislative affairs intern, and
Minh-Nhat “Leo” Tran will join us in August as the new advertising
and publications intern.
We bid farewell to our outgoing interns: marketing and outreach
intern Mina Seljogi, legislative affairs intern Stefan Geyer and advertis-
ing intern Susanne Brands. We thank them for their exemplary work
and wish them all the best! More information on AFSA internships is
available on our Web site at
www.afsa.org/internships_at_afsa.aspx.