The Foreign Service Journal, September 2011

52 F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L / S E P T EMB E R 2 0 1 1 A F S A N E W S 2011 AFSA Awards Celebrate Dissent (Left to right) Amb. William Burns, under secretary for political affairs, with Amb. Roz Ridgway, winner of the Lifetime Contributions to American Diplomacy Award; Susan Johnson, AFSA president; and Ian Houston, AFSA executive director. (Left to right) Amb. CharlesH. Rivkinwith Joel Ehrendreich, winner of the William R. Rivkin Award. (Left to right) Susan Johnson with James W. Bayuk, winner of the Christian A. Herter Award. (Left to right) F. Allen “Tex” Harris with Catherine Ebert Gray, accepting for Maurizio Visani, winner of the F. Allen “Tex” Harris Award. (Left to right) Amb. William C. Harrop with Ann E. Rehme, winner of the Nelson B. Delavan Award. (Left to right) Jon B. Clements with Michael L. Vining, winner of the M. Juanita Guess Award. PHOTOS BY DONNA AYERST