The Foreign Service Journal, November 2015

6 NOVEMBER 2015 | THE FOREIGN SERVICE JOURNAL Editor in Chief Director of Publications Shawn Dorman: Managing Editor Susan Brady Maitra: Associate Editor Maria C. Livingston: Editorial/Publications Specialist Brittany DeLong: Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger: Art Director Caryn Suko Smith Editorial Intern Shannon Mizzi Advertising Intern Milo Opdahl Contributing Editor Steven Alan Honley Editorial Board Beth Payne, Chair James Bever Angela Bond Hon. Gordon S. Brown Stephen W. Buck Eric Green Kara McDonald John G. Rendeiro Jr. Duncan Walker Tracy Whittington THE MAGAZINE FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS PROFESSIONALS The Foreign Service Journal (ISSN 0146-3543), 2101 E Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20037-2990 is pub- lished monthly, with combined January-February and July-August issues, by the American Foreign Service Association (AFSA), a private, nonprofit organization. Material appearing herein represents the opinions of the writers and does not necessarily represent the views of the Journal , the Editorial Board or AFSA. Writer queries and submissions are invited, preferably by email. The Journal is not responsible for unsolicited manuscripts, photos or illustrations. Advertising inquiries are invited. All advertising is subject to the publisher’s approval. AFSA reserves the right to reject advertising that is not in keeping with its standards and objectives. The appear- ance of advertisements herein does not imply endorse- ment of goods or services offered. Opinions expressed in advertisements are the views of the advertisers and do not necessarily represent AFSA views or policy. Journal subscription: AFSA member–$20, included in annual dues; student–$30; institution–$40; others–$50; Single issue–$4.50. For foreign surface mail, add $18 per year; foreign airmail, $36 per year. Periodical postage paid at Washington, D.C., and at additional mailing offices. Indexed by the Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS). Email: Phone: (202) 338-4045 Fax: (202) 338-8244 Web: © American Foreign Service Association, 2015 PRINTED IN THE U.S.A. Postmaster: Send address changes to AFSA, Attn: Address Change 2101 E Street NW Washington DC 20037-2990 AFSA Headquarters: (202) 338-4045; Fax (202) 338-6820 State Department AFSA Office: (202) 647-8160; Fax (202) 647-0265 USAID AFSA Office: (202) 712-1941; Fax (202) 216-3710 FCS AFSA Office: (202) 482-9088; Fax (202) 482-9087 GOVERNING BOARD President Hon. Barbara Stephenson: Secretary William Haugh: Treasurer Hon. Charles A. Ford: State Vice President Angie Bryan: USAID Vice President Sharon Wayne: FCS Vice President Steve Morrison: FAS Vice President Mark Petry: Retiree Vice President Hon. Tom Boyatt: State Representatives Lawrence Casselle John Dinkelman Eric Geelan Josh Glazeroff Margaret “Nini” Hawthorne Philip Laidlaw Peter Neisuler Erin O’Connor Leah Pease Sam Thielman Tricia Wingerter USAID Representatives Jeffrey Cochrane Lorraine Sherman FCS Representative Youqing Ma FAS Representative Corey Pickelsimer BBG Representative Vacant APHIS Representative Mark C. Prescott Retiree Representatives Hon. Patricia Butenis Dean J. Haas Hon. Al La Porta Hon. John Limbert STAFF Executive Director Ian Houston: Executive Assistant Patrick Bradley: BUSINESS DEPARTMENT Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola: Controller Kalpna Srimal: Assistant Controller Cory Nishi: LABOR MANAGEMENT General Counsel Sharon Papp: Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich: Labor Management Specialist James Yorke: Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh: Staff Attorney Raeka Safai: Staff Attorney Andrew Large: Labor Management Counselor Colleen Fallon-Lenaghan: Labor Management Assistant Jason Snyder: Executive Assistant Lindsey Botts: USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome: USAID Staff Assistant Erika Bethmann: MEMBER SERVICES Member Services Director Janet Hedrick: Membership Representative Natalie Cheung: Retiree Counselor Todd Thurwachter: Coordinator, Retiree Counseling and Legislation VACANT Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez: COMMUNICATIONS Director of Communications Ásgeir Sigfússon: Online Communications Specialist Jeff Lau: Communications and Press Specialist Allan Saunders: Special Awards and Outreach Coordinator Perri Green: ADVOCACY Advocacy Director Javier Cuebas: Senior Legislative Assistant David Murimi: SCHOLARSHIPS Scholarship Director Lori Dec: Scholarship Senior Associate Jonathan Crawford: FOREIGN SERVICE CONTACTS