The Foreign Service Journal, December 2019

THE FOREIGN SERVICE JOURNAL | DECEMBER 2019 63 AFSA NEWS December 2 AFSA Scholarship Applications Available Online December 3 12-1:20 p.m. “Understanding the Hatch Act” December 11 4:30-6:30 p.m. AFSA Holiday Happy Hour December 18 12-2 p.m. AFSA Governing Board Meeting December 25 Christmas – AFSA Offices Closed January 1 New Year’s Day – AFSA Offices Closed January 8 12-2 p.m. “The New TSP: What You Need to Know” January 15 12-2 p.m. AFSA Governing Board Meeting January 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – AFSA Offices Closed January 29 Webinar: “Reviewing Your Retirement Plan” February 17 Presidents’ Day – AFSA Offices Closed February 19 12-2 p.m. AFSA Governing Board Meeting CALENDAR agent for the Foreign Ser- vice for about 50 years. Hav- ing been involved in AFSA’s beginning as our collective bargaining agent, I sincerely believe that AFSA’s labor union activity has enhanced AFSA’s role as a defender of high professional standards for the Foreign Service, and continues to do so.” Amb. Cohen continued: “Professional issues in the Foreign Service and bread-and-butter issues are connected. That is why it is important for AFSA to do both. “For that reason, it is also important for the Foreign Service to support AFSA at all levels, including retirement,” he said. “AFSA spends a lot of time defend- ing retiree interests.” See the Journal ’s inter- view with Hank Cohen on p. 24. Constructive Dissent AFSA’s constructive dissent awards are unique within the U.S. government. Each year for nearly a half-century, AFSA has given these awards to Foreign Service officers and specialists who have had the courage to dissent within the system. This year two Foreign Ser- vice officers were awarded the William R. Rivkin Award for a mid-level officer: Anna Boulos , for her efforts to reform and improve Visa Lookout Accountability AFSA President Eric Rubin (left) presents Ambassador (ret.) Herman “Hank” Cohen with the Lifetime Contributions to American Diplomacy award at the Oct. 16 awards ceremony. AFSA/JOAQUINSOSA Constructive Dissent Award recipients (from left) Timmy Davis, Moises Mendoza and Anna Boulos. AFSA/JOAQUINSOSA