The Foreign Service Journal, July-August 2012

50 F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L / J U L Y - A UGU S T 2 0 1 2 A F S A N E W S AFSA Welcomes New Interns The change of season brings yet another crop of dynamic young interns to AFSA. We are thrilled to welcome the summer 2012 class! Eva M.A. Moss is the new Foreign Service Journal Editorial Intern. She is a rising sophomore at the University of the South in Sewanee, Tenn., and the daughter of a recently retired Foreign Service employ- ee. (Advertising Intern Claudia Gerken will remain with AFSA through August.) Beth Romagnoli is the new Communications, Marketing and Outreach Intern. A senior at Franklin College Switzerland, Beth is studying communications and media, and comparative literary and cultural studies. Interestingly, Beth’s grandfather, Eugene Sullivan, was honored at AFSA’s Memorial Plaque Ceremony last year. He was a Foreign Service officer with USAID when he died of malaria in Ethiopia in 1972. We thank our departing interns — Paul J. Carter, Christy Nguyen and David J. Barton — for their hard work and dedication during the spring semester and wish them the very best. Managing Unaccompanied Tours In May, more than 25 Foreign Service family members and employ- ees attended a Washington-area happy hour hosted by the Associates of the American Foreign Service Worldwide. The topic was managing an unaccompanied tour and the event included presentations from representatives of State Department offices and a panel of family members who have experienced an unaccompanied tour. Family Liaison Office representatives presented information on FLO’s Unaccompanied Tours Support Program, which provides guidance, resources and assistance to all FS employees and family members from all foreign affairs agencies. The Foreign Service Institute’s Transition Center provided an overview of courses available to employees and family members and resources offered by the Overseas Briefing Center. The Office of Medical Services’ Employee Consultation Service explained the confidential counseling and referral options available for AFSA NEWS BRIEFS Staff: Executive Director Ian Houston: BusinessDepartment Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola: Controller KalpnaSrimal: AssistantController Cory Nishi: LaborManagement General Counsel Sharon Papp: Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich: Labor Management Specialist James Yorke: Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber: Senior Staff Attorney NeeraParikh: StaffAttorneyRaekaSafai: StaffAttorneyAndrewLarge: Office Manager Christine Warren: USAIDSeniorLaborManagementAdviserDouglasBroome: USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer: MemberServices Member Services Director Janet Hedrick: Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes: Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez: Communications,MarketingandOutreach Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown: Associate Coordinator for Retiree Counseling and Legislation Matt Sumrak: Director of Communications Thomas Switzer: Director of Policy: vacant LegislativeAssistantClintLohse : Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley: Scholarship Director Lori Dec: Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford: Marketing&OutreachManagerAsgeirSigfusson: SpecialAwards&OutreachCoordinatorPerriGreen: WebandGraphicsAssistantJeffLau: AFSA HEADQUARTERS: (202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820 STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE: (202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265 USAID AFSA OFFICE: (202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710 FCS AFSA OFFICE: (202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087 PRESIDENT: STATE VP: RETIREE VP: USAID VP: FAS VP: FCS VP: AFSA News Editor Donna Ayerst: (202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820 Foreign Service Journal FSJ: Editor Steven Alan Honley: Senior Editor Susan Maitra: Associate Editor Shawn Dorman: Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger: Art Director Caryn Suko Smith: On the Web AFSA WEB SITE: FSJ: How to Contact Us: Governing Board: PRESIDENT: Susan R. Johnson STATE VP: Daniel Hirsch USAID VP: Francisco Zamora FCS VP: Keith Curtis FAS VP: David Mergen RETIREE VP: Mary Ellen Gilroy SECRETARY: Vacant TREASURER: Andrew Winter STATE REPS: Matthew Asada William Bent Grace Choi Kenneth Kero-Mentz Kimberly Krhounek Elise Mellinger Joyce Namde David Zwach USAID REPS: Michael Henning Iris Young FCS REP: Steve Morrison FAS REP: Andrew Burst IBB REP: Andre De Nesnera RETIREE REPS: Robert Houdek Edward Marks Hugh Neighbour Molly Williamson FS Follies State Department employees and family members. For more information about happy hours and other upcoming events, please contact AAFSW First Vice President Jen Dinoia at