The Foreign Service Journal, September 2010

co-hostedtheceremonyinState’sBenjamin Franklin Diplomatic Reception Room. AFSA first gave out an award for con- structive dissent in1968. In the years since, seven more awards have been added hon- oring dissent, exemplary performance and lifetime contributions to diplomacy. Although there is not always a winner in everycategoryeachyear, this year eightpeo- ple were honored. James (Jim) Fox , of U.S. NATO, Brus- sels, was chosen as the AFSA post repre- sentativeof theyear for tirelesslyadvocating for mission staff in dealings with manage- ment. Uponaccepting theaward, Fox said, “We canaccomplishour goals andstill take care of our community if we work togeth- er.” AnneBridgman of Embassy Bratislava received, in absentia, the Avis Bohlen Award, presented toaForeignService fam- ily member whose relations with the American and foreign communities at an overseas post have done the most to advanceU.S. interests. In a statement read byFSOJonMartinson,Bridgmanwrote,“If it is true that ingivingone receives, I’vebeen trulyblessedinmyyearsasaForeignService spouse.” This year’s winner of the M. Juanita Guess Award, given in recognition of out- standing service by a Community Liaison Officer who has demonstrated leadership, dedication, initiative or imagination in assisting families serving at anoverseas post, was Sarah Genton of Embassy Madrid. Genton says the award “honors all CLOs abroad.” The Nelson B. Delavan Award, which recognizesextraordinary contributions to effec- tiveness, professional- ism and morale by an Office Management Specialist,waspresented to Allie L. Almero of Embassy Kabul, who thankedher parents for their support. Almero traveled for 24 hours from Kabul to Wash- ington for the awards ceremony and made the 24-hour return trip only twodays after she’darrived. Three of the four construc- tive dissent categories had win- ners this year. The Tex Harris Award for constructivedissent by a Foreign Service specialist was presented to David M. Zwach , a securityengineeringofficerwho convinced the department to approve a specialist certificate commensurate with the gener- alist version. In his remarks, Zwach said, “I hope one daymy certificate will inspire my chil- dren to serve their country as much as it inspires me.” AmbassadorThomasBoyatt,himselfthe recipientoftheWilliamR.RivkinAwardfor constructive dissent by amid-level Foreign Serviceofficer in1970, introduced the2010 Rivkinawardwithsomereminiscences. “Bill Rivkin was a force of nature,” said Boyatt. “He loved what he did, he did it extremely well, and he was not afraid of anything.” This awardwent to Dr.DianaPutman forchallengingthehierarchyattheU.S.Africa Commandover proposed interventions in theareaofsexualandgender-basedviolence in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. “This award goes to all women,” said Putman, “who work so hard to provide a better life for their families.” Kathryn A. Kiser received the W. AverillHarrimanAwardforconstructivedis- sent by an entry-level Foreign Service offi- cer. While stationed inthe consular section of Embassy Amman, Ms. Kiser dissented from a State Department policy that with- A F S A N E W S 56 F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L / S E P T EMB E R 2 0 1 0 Awards • Continued from page 49 David Zwach with AFSA President Susan Johnson, June 24. PATRICK BRADLEY Allie Almero, center, accepts her award fromAmbassadorWilliamC. Harrop. AFSA President Susan Johnson is on the right. Seated are (clockwise from back row, left): Deputy Assistant Secretary for Iran John Limbert, Director General Nancy Powell, AFSA Post Rep of the Year James Fox, and Ambassador L. Bruce Laingen. PATRICK BRADLEY Sarah Genton makes remarks after accepting the M. Juanita Guess Award. PATRICK BRADLEY Diana Putman, right, with AFSA Coordinator for Special Awards & Outreach Perri Green. PATRICK BRADLEY