The Foreign Service Journal, September 2012

58 F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L / S E P T EMB E R 2 0 1 2 A F S A N E W S Spotlight on Intellectual Courage TheHonorable Robert S. Rivkin (L) presents theWilliam R. Rivkin Award to Joshua W. Polacheck. Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs Johnnie Carson (center) presents AFSA’s Lifetime Contributions to American Diplomacy Award to Amb. William Lacy Swing. Also pictured (L to R): AFSA Executive Director Ian Houston (far left), AFSA President Susan R. Johnson and Deputy Secretary of State William J. Burns. Mette Beecroft (L), president emerita of AAFSW, pre- sents the Avis Bohlen Award to Leila Gupta. Jon B. Clements, Clements Worldwide CEO, presents the M. Juanita Guess Award to Sara Hurst Butler. Mr. Caldwell Harrop (L) presents the Nelson B. Delavan Award to James Velez. Not Pictured: Jeff J. Jacob, AFSA Post Representative of the Year.