Retiree Associations

Regional and state Foreign Service associations, while independent of AFSA, work closely with AFSA in reaching out to retired government foreign affairs personnel who have served in diplomatic capacity, including mission support staff. Membership in some of these associations may include private and non-governmental personnel who have served abroad.

Joining a retiree association is a great way to stay in touch with your profession as well as old friends and colleagues. If you don’t see your state listed below and are interested in forming a Foreign Service retiree association in your area AFSA can help. Please contact Christine Miele, Director, Programs and Member Engagement at miele@afsa.org.

You may contact the retiree association in your area using the information below.

Current as of February 2020. Click on the links below to jump down to the corresponding state/area.

AZ | CA | CO | CT | DC | FL | MA | MD | MN | NC | NH | RI | TX | UT | VA | VT | WA | WV | Other

Arizona

Arizona Foreign Service Retirees

Hon. Douglas A. Hartwick
dahartwick@gmail.com

California

Foreign Service Association of Northern California (FSANC)

Scott F. Kilner, President
(650) 561-3820 or (408) 202-2592 (mobile)
scott.kilner7@gmail.com

Foreign Service Retiree Association of Southern California (Greater San Diego area) FSRASC

Daria (“Dede”) de Pierre-Hollowell, Coordinator
(619) 742-1382
hollowelldd@gmail.com

Foreign Affairs Association of Southern and Central California

Robert Baker
(310) 625-9122
baker732@roadrunner.com

Colorado

Foreign Service Retirees of Colorado

Michael Keaveny
(303) 927-6191
mmkeaveny@yahoo.com

Florida

Foreign Service Retirees Association of Florida

Ellen Engels, Chair
engelsec@hotmail.com

Maryland/District of Columbia

Foreign Affairs Retirees of Maryland and Washington, D.C.

Norm Glick, Convener
nucky109@gmail.com

Delmarva Foreign Affairs Associates

delmarvafaa@aol.com

Minnesota-Wisconsin

Upper Midwest Chapter of the American Foreign Service Association

William F. Davnie, Convener
(612) 419-0518
bcdavnie@gmail.com

New England

Foreign Affairs Retirees of New England

Elizabeth Barnett, President
(617) 227-0943
barnett1895@hotmail.com

North Carolina

Carolina Friends of the Foreign Service

Hon. Brenda Brown Schoonover, Acting Chair
(919) 360 8592
Rcschoon2@aol.com

Texas

The Texas Foreign Service Group

www.TFSG.org
John S. Wood
(512) 797-0538
jsw69intadv@hotmail.com

Houston Foreign Service Alumni

Julie Gianelloni Connor, Organizer
202-558-8707
Julie@BayouCityPress.com

Foreign Service Retirees Association of San Antonio

Janet Scott
(210) 341-9498
stscottjr@aol.com

Utah

Utah Retired Foreign Service Group

Vance C. Pace
(801) 546-3950
(801) 891-6916 (mobile)
vance.pace@gmail.com

Virginia

Foreign Affairs Retirees of Northern Virginia (FARNOVA)

John K. Naland
nalandfamily@yahoo.com

Washington

Foreign Service Retirees Association of Washington State

Hon. Roger Meece
(425) 996-0263
(425) 444-8498 (mobile)
rameece@comcast.net

West Virginia

Foreign Service Reunion Association

Renny Smith
(304) 876-2583
rennyts@aol.com

Other

USAID Alumni Association

Co-Chairs
Anne Aarnes
Margaret Neuse
www.usaidalumni.org

Public Diplomacy Alumni Association

Joel Fischman, President
pdaa.publicdiplomacy.org

DACOR

James Dandridge II, President
202-682-0500
dacor@dacorbacon.org