Financial Planners, Tax Help and Estate Planners

The following is a list of financial planners, accounting services, and estate planners who have successfully represented Foreign Service employees. Some on the list were recommended by AFSA members, some have advertised with the Foreign Service Journal, and some are frequent speakers at the Foreign Service Institute and AFSA. This list is provided as a courtesy. AFSA does not endorse any of the individuals on this list nor does it accept responsibility for the consequences of acting on their advice.

One of the key questions to ask your potential financial planner or advisor is whether s/he is a fiduciary. Guidance on that subject is available on this link: https://smartasset.com/financial-advisor/what-is-fiduciary-financial-advisor.

Last Updated 6/30/20

Financial Planners/Advisors

Chris Cortese, CFP
Logbook Financial Planning
Rockport, Maine
(888) 651-2317
chris@logbookfp.com
www.logbookfp.com

Theodore S. Davis, CFP, CRPC
Ameriprise Financial Services, Inc.
4000 Legato Ste 1100
Fairfax, VA 22033
(703) 896-7956
(703) 955-3225 (Fax)
theodore.s.davis@ampf.com
www.ameripriseadvisors.com/theodore.s.davis

Sean Michael Duffy
Alcumus Financial Group/Ameriprise Financial Services, Inc.
8601 Georgia Ave #910, Silver Spring, MD 20910
and 1100 H St NW #1010, Washington, DC 20005
(202) 223-3450
sean.duffy@ampf.com
https://www.ameripriseadvisors.com/sean.duffy/

Mary Ginn
MCG Financial Planning
10303 Greenwood Pl.
Oakton, VA 22124
(301) 951-9160
(703) 938-2278 (Fax)
mcgfin@verizon.net

Dwayne A. Jackson, CFP, AIT
Rembert/Pendleton/Jackson
7647 Leesburg Pike
Falls Church, VA 22043
(703) 821-6655
daj@rpjadvisors.com
www.rpjadvisors.com

Karen Schaeffer, CFP
Schaeffer Financial
4612 Great Oak Rd.
Rockville, MD 20853
Kaitlin@schaefferfinancial.com
www.schaefferfinancial.com

William Carrington, CFP, RMA
Carrington Financial Planning LLC
2627 NE 14th St.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
William@carringtonfp.com
www.carringtonFP.com

George Windecker
Windecker Financial Planning LLC
P.O. Box 3323
Merrifield, VA 22116-3325
571-310-3520
windeckerfp@gmail.com

Taxes

Scott Irving, CPA
Irving & Company, CPA
1934 Old Gallows Road, Suite 350
Tysons Corner, VA 22182
(202) 257-2318
(866) 640-0908 (Fax)
sirving@irvingcom.com
www.irvingcom.com

Charles R. “Bob” Leins, CPA
Turner, Leins & Gold LLC, NITP
39 West Montgomery Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
(301) 340-6300
bleins@turnerleinsgold.com

David Mortimer, CPA
120 S. Royal St.
Alexandria VA 22314
(703) 743-0272
(202) 204-5199 (Fax)
david@mytaxcpa.net
www.mytaxcpa.net

Arthur A. Granberg, EA, ATA, ATP
Tax Matters Associates, PC
4600 N Fairfax Drive Suite 414
Arlington, VA 22203
703-841-0158
aag8686tma@gmail.com
www.taxmattersassociatespc.com

Estate Planning

John L. Laster, Esq.
Law Offices of John L. Laster
703-538-3600
JLL@trusttolast.com

Megan Schaeffer
Ackerman Brown PLLC
Chair, Trusts and Estate Practice Group
1010 Wisconsin Ave NW
Suite 208
Washington, DC 20007
(202) 975-8303
www.ackermanbrown.com