AFSA Awards Ceremony

Start Date/Time: 
Wednesday, October 19, 2022 - 15:00
End Date/Time: 
Wednesday, October 19, 2022 - 18:00

AFSA will host its annual awards ceremony at the Department of State's Dean Acheson auditorium from 3:00-5:00 p.m. on October 19. A reception will follow in the National Museum of American Diplomacy atrium from 5:00-6:00 p.m.

The registration link to this year’s ceremony can be found here. We kindly ask that any attendees respond by October 3 using the link provided. Those who do not possess a valid State Department badge should submit their date of birth and driver’s license or passport number for security purposes. 

This year, AFSA is honored present Ambassador (ret.) Anne W. Patterson with the association’s Award for Lifetime Contributions to American Diplomacy in recognition of her outstanding Foreign Service career, her lifelong commitment to public service, and her exemplary contributions to U.S. foreign policy. 

We will also honor the recipients of the association's Constructive Dissent and Exemplary Performance Awards. AFSA is proud to honor members of the Foreign Service who have shown a willingness to work constructively within the system to change policy and performance for the better. They will stand alongside their Performance Award colleagues who provide a shining example of professionalism, dedication and spirit of service and volunteerism found within the Foreign Service community. 

Finally, AFSA will present the inaugural Foreign Service Champions Award, celebrating the accomplishments and achievements of a member of Congress, the military, or another influential non-career member of the foreign affairs community, whether individual or as a group, who has made meaningful contributions to diplomacy and the Foreign Service. The first recipients of this award are Representative Joaquin Castro and Senator Dan Sullivan. 

We ask that all guests arriving from outside the Department please be sure to arrive by 2:30 p.m. at the Department’s C Street entrance and bring a photo ID. If you have any questions, please email or call (202) 719-9705. We hope you will be able to join us for this celebratory occasion.