AFSA 2017-2019 Governing Board Candidates

The AFSA Committee on Elections has approved the following candidates for positions on the ballot for the AFSA Governing Board for the 2017-2019 term. All regular voting members of AFSA will receive, by email or mail, a ballot and the special election edition of AFSA News on or about April 17, 2017.

AFSA is pleased to offer those members for whom we have a valid email address the opportunity to vote online. Please read the instructions accompanying the ballot carefully. Completed ballots must be received by 8:00 a.m. on June 8, 2017, in order to be counted. The new AFSA Governing Board will take office on July 15, 2017.

AFSA members are encouraged to visit the AFSA Community to participate in an online discussion forum with candidates. Candidates and/or members may post questions or comments to the discussion thread “2017 AFSA Governing Board Election & Bylaw Amendments.” All members must log in to participate and have personal email addresses stored on their profile. (Note: government email addresses will not be accepted on the AFSA Community site.)

Additionally, a Town Hall meeting has been set for Tuesday, April 4, at 12 p.m. in the first floor conference room at the AFSA HQ building, 2101 E Street, NW Washington DC 20037. This event will be taped and available on the AFSA YouTube channel. The candidates' statements will also be posted on the AFSA website on April 3, 2017. Visit the election’s webpage to view.

If you have not already done so, please ensure AFSA has your current address on record. To update your address information, send an email to

IMPORTANT: If you do not receive your ballot by May 8, 2017, please contact and provide your full name, work location, current address and telephone number.

2017 Governing Board Candidates

Nominee Position
Barbara Stephenson * President
Tom Boyatt * Secretary
Earl Anthony (Tony) Wayne * Treasurer
Joe De Maria State VP
Kenneth Kero-Mentz * State VP
Ann Posner USAID VP
Daniel T. Crocker * FCS VP
Steve Morrison FCS VP
Hoa Van Huynh FAS VP
Bill Haugh * Retiree VP
John K. Naland Retiree VP
Matthew Hilgendorf FCS Rep
Andrew Wylegala FCS Rep
John J. Hurley APHIS Rep
Steven L. Herman BBG Rep
Thom Wright FAS Rep
Christian W. Hougen Withdrawn – 2/22/17 USAID Rep
Christopher C. Ashe State Rep
Lawrence W. K. Casselle * State Rep
Anne Coleman-Honn * State Rep
Josh Glazeroff * State Rep
Martin McDowell * State Rep
Thomas Michels State Rep
Salina Rico State Rep
Andrew J. Scheineson State Rep
Adam Vogelzang State Rep
Tricia Wingerter * State Rep
George Colvin Retiree Rep
Alphonse F. La Porta * Retiree Rep
Philip A. Shull * Retiree Rep

* Member of the Strong Diplomacy slate


Susan W. Wong
Chair, AFSA Committee on Elections