Financial Planners, Tax Help and Estate Planners

The following is a list of financial planners, accounting services, and estate planners who have successfully represented Foreign Service employees. Some were recommended by AFSA members, some have advertised in the Foreign Service Journal, and some are frequent speakers at the Foreign Service Institute or AFSA. This list is provided as a courtesy. AFSA does not endorse any of the individuals on this list nor does it accept responsibility for the consequences of acting on their advice.

A key question to ask your potential financial planner or advisor is whether s/he is a fiduciary. Guidance on that subject is available at https://smartasset.com/financial-advisor/what-is-fiduciary-financial-advisor.

Last Updated 11/10/22

Financial Planners/Advisors

William Carrington, CFP, RMA
Carrington Financial Planning LLC
2627 NE 14th St.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
William@carringtonfp.com
carringtonfp.com/

Chris Cortese, CFP
Logbook Financial Planning
Rockport, Maine
(888) 651-2317
chris@logbookfp.com
www.logbookfp.com/

Theodore S. Davis, CFP, CRPC
Ameriprise Financial Services, Inc.
4000 Legato Ste 1100
Fairfax, VA 22033
(703) 896-7956
theodore.s.davis@ampf.com
www.ameripriseadvisors.com/theodore.s.davis/

Mary Ginn
MCG Financial Planning
10303 Greenwood Pl.
Oakton, VA 22124
(703) 938-0074
mcgfin@verizon.net

Dwayne A. Jackson, CFP, AIT
Rembert/Pendleton/Jackson
7647 Leesburg Pike
Falls Church, VA 22043
(703) 821-6655
daj@rpjadvisors.com
www.rpjadvisors.com

Karen Schaeffer, CFP
Schaeffer Financial
4612 Great Oak Rd.
Rockville, MD 20853
(301) 933-5550
Kaitlin@schaefferfinancial.com
www.schaefferfinancial.com

Joe Sullender, CFP
Sullender Utley Financial Group LLC
1750 Tysons Blvd., Suite 1500
McLean, VA 22102
(571) 385-2800
joe@sullenderutley.com
sullenderutley.stewardpartners.com/

George Windecker
Windecker Financial Planning LLC
P.O. Box 3323
Merrifield, VA 22116-3325
(571) 310-3520
windeckerfp@gmail.com
www.windeckerfp.pro/

Taxes

Mary Ginn
MCG Financial Planning
10303 Greenwood Pl.
Oakton, VA 22124
(703) 938-0074
mcgfin@verizon.net

Arthur A. Granberg, EA, ATA, ATP
Tax Matters Associates, PC
4600 N Fairfax Drive Suite 414
Arlington, VA 22203
(703) 522-3828
aag8686tma@gmail.com
taxmattersassociatespc.com/

Scott Irving, CPA
Irving & Company, CPA
1934 Old Gallows Road, Suite 350
Tysons Corner, VA 22182
(202) 257-2318
info@irvingcom.com
www.irvingcpa.pro/

Charles R. “Bob” Leins, CPA
Turner, Leins & Gold LLC, NITP
39 West Montgomery Ave.
Rockville, MD 20850
(301) 340-6300
bleins@tlg.cpa

David Mortimer, CPA
120 S. Royal St.
Alexandria VA 22314
(703) 743-0272
David@mytaxcpa.net
www.mytaxcpa.net

Christine Elsea Mandojana, CPA, CFP
CEM Global Tax Planning LLC
(202) 657-4875
christine@cemglobaltax.com
www.cemglobaltax.com/

Estate Planning

Russell Bikoff, Esq.
1620 L St, NW Suite 610
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 466-8270
BikoffLaw@verizon.net
www.bikofflaw.com/
Licensed to practice in D.C. and Virginia

John L. Laster, Esq.
Old Brickhouse Square
103 Rowell Court
Falls Church, VA 22046
(703) 538-3600
JLL@trusttolast.com
admin@trusttolast.com
Licensed to practice in D.C., Maryland, and Virginia