In Memory/Obituaries

The FSJ’s In Memory department, which is reserved for members of the Foreign Service and their immediate families, is published on alternate months, according to the schedule below. The obituaries average between 300 and 500 words in length, but that is a guideline and not a limit. We do not use photographs. You may write the obituary yourself, or send us the information and we will draft it.

Please be sure to include date, place and cause of death; details of the individual’s Foreign Service career (when entered, postings, when retired); and survivors and where they live. In addition, our readers are very interested in what their colleagues have done in retirement. You may also want to include birthplace, education and any other highlights of the individual's life.

We strongly encourage you to also consider memorializing your loved one through AFSA's new online memorial tribute page, where photos, biographic information and remembrances may be saved for posterity.

Obituaries or inquiries concerning obituaries may be sent by email to, or by snail mail to: The Foreign Service Journal, 2101 E Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20037.

September 2022

  • Henry Clay Black II
  • Edward Allan Gallagher
  • Warren Gray
  • Ann Delavan Harrop
  • Dwight Holmes
  • George Jenkins
  • Andrew J. “AJ” Kopiak Jr.
  • Edward M. Rowell
  • Pamela Fay Scott
  • Nimalka “Nimi” Wijesooriya

July/August 2022

  • Gina E. Barile
  • Annie M. Carter
  • Andrew J. “A.J.” Kopiak Jr.
  • Thomas “Tom” Lee Marr
  • Francis Joseph “Frank” Meehan
  • John K. Menzies
  • Katherine Radosh
  • Patricia Franklin Schofield
  • John Jackson “Jay” Taylor
  • Dennis Edward Wendel

May 2022

  • Edwin Thomas “Tom” Chapman
  • Larry Colbert
  • Carleene Dei
  • John Paul Modderno II
  • Jose Tito Ledda Nakpil
  • Phyllis Oakley

March 2022

  • Barry Fore Copenhaver
  • Ben Fairfax
  • Judith Anne Futch
  • William “John” Hussey
  • Michelle Lynne “Miki” Jones
  • Charles Stuart “Stu” Kennedy
  • Carol Joan Mills
  • Margery Gruen Myers
  • Joseph Presel
  • Frances Helen Scott
  • JoAnne Shankle
  • Keith L. Silver
  • Kenneth N. Skoug Jr.
  • Michael B. Smith
  • Geoffrey Ernest Wolfe
  • Arthur Hamilton Woodruff

January/February 2022

  • Robert “Bob” C. Bergin
  • Paul A. Bialecki
  • Christopher M. Gilbertson
  • Patricia McMahon Hawkins
  • Tyler Chapman Holt
  • Adeline Rose Krizek
  • Eugene “Gene” L. Krizek
  • Hobart Luppi
  • Stuart Everett Patt
  • Andrew Douglas Sens
  • Robert Edward Service
  • Brian W. Wilson